The Baltic states of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania were jointly awarded the International Peace of Westphalia Prize on July 14 for their significant contribution to the peaceful and democratic development of the region.

German President Frank-Walter Steinmeier presented the award which is named after the famous 1648 agreement which ended the Thirty Years' War and ushered in a new era of diplomacy and co-existence between neighboring sovereign states.

Read the whole story here.